Connect Pakistan Case Law to Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or any AI assistantUse this library inside your AI assistantSet up free
← Search
1988 PLC(CS) 985
[Sindh Labour Appellate Tribunal]
Present: Ali Nawaz Budhani, Appellate Tribunal, JJ

Messrs TROLLOP COLLS COMETATION OVERSEAS LTD. Versus HABIB KHAN

Appeal No. WCK-9 of 1987, decided on 14th March, 1988.
Result: Appeal dismissed.
⭐ Prefer in Google
Summary

This is an appeal filed by the appellant establishment against the order of the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation allowing compensation of Rs. 21,000 along with fees and costs to the respondent workman under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923. The core legal question was whether the respondent sustained permanent total disablement due to injuries arising out of and in the course of his employment as a labourer. The court held that the respondent successfully established through medical and oral evidence that he suffered 100% disability during employment, whereas the appellant failed to produce any evidence in rebuttal. The court dismissed the appeal and maintained the impugned order, directing the release of the deposited amount to the respondent. The court laid down the principle that where an employee proves through un-rebutted medical and oral evidence that they sustained injuries resulting in permanent partial or total disablement during employment, the compensation awarded by the Commissioner under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 will not be interfered with.

Questions settled in this judgment
  • Whether an employer can resist a compensation claim without producing evidence in rebuttal?
  • Is an employee entitled to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 for injuries sustained during the course of employment?
  • Whether the finding of the Commissioner regarding permanent disablement can be interfered with in appeal when supported by medical evidence?
workmen's compensationpermanent disablementloss of earning capacityinjury in course of employmentappeal dismissal

DECISION

This is an appeal filed by the appellant establishment against an impugned order dated 24-9-1987, passed by the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation, Central Division, Karachi, who had allowed the application under section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 of the respondent workman granting him compensation of Rs. 21,00 plus Rs. 100 as witness fee, pleader's fee and the cost of the application.

2.Briefly stated the facts of the case were that the respondent claimed to have been employed as a labourer by the appellant establishment who were a Construction Company engaged in the construction of Agha Khan Hospital and that on 21-5-1985, while he was on duty, he was ordered by the supervisor Yasin to carry wooden shuttering to 2nd floor through the wooden stairs from the 1st floor and while he was carrying the burden he lost his balance and fell down inside the gutter-line and received serious injuries, so, he was immediately taken to Liaquat National Hospital where he eras admitted and remained under treatment for 24 days from 21-5-1983 to 19-6-1983. The respondent further claimed that after some recovery he joined the duties, but, after a month and a half he again developed trouble, so, he was again hospitalized on 6-7-1983 and remained there upto 9-7-1983 so he became unfit to perform any kind of duty due to the said incident and the cause of disability. Further, the respondent claimed that when he approached the appellant establishment for his examination and assessment of disability he refused to do so; thus, on 10-8-1984, he got himself examined by a qualified Medical Practitioner who assessed his permanent partial disability at 100 per cent. As his wages were Rs.800 per month, therefore, he claimed compensation of an amount of Rs. 21,000.

3.The appellant establishment resisted the application of the respondent on the grounds that the alleged injury to the respondent did not arise in the course of employment and it was caused by the wilful disregard of the safety devices made for avoiding the crossing of an open wench which he was not required and obliged to cross in any case and according to his own conduct, he had ostensibly become temporarily impotent which had no relevancy to any admissible claim under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 and as the respondent had already filed a Civil Suit, therefore, he was not competent to file the present application before the learned Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation. It was further claimed by the appellant establishment that the respondent had never approached them for assessment of any disability nor in fact there was any permanent disablement of learning capacity and that the certificates were in-admissible in evidence, so, his application was liable to be dismissed.

4.The respondent has examined himself and had produced his witnesses, manly, Munawar and Dr. Nayar lqbal, while one Dr. Mustansar Dawood Hay Jhaveri was also summoned and examined. On the other hand, the appellant establishment, though several opportunities were accorded, did not produce any evidence in rebuttal of the claim of the respondent. Thereafter, the, learned Commissioner for Workman's Compensation passed the impugned order, hence, the present appeal.

5.I have Neared Mr. S.A.M. Jami, the learned Advocate for the appellant establishment and Mr. Ibne Ayub, the learned representative on behalf of the respondent and have also carefully perused the record and proceedings of the case an well as the written arguments submitted by both the parties. It is an admitted position that the appellant establishment did not produce anything oral or documentary to establish that the respondent had sustained injuries on his own accord and that the management was not responsible for the same. On the other hand, there is sufficient cogent evidence on behalf of the respondent worker that supervisor Yasin had ordered him to perform the duties of danger, in nature and that through the authentic and qualified evidence of Doctors, on record, it is also beyond any doubt an established position that the respondent had remained in Liaquat National Hospital under treatment and sustained 100% disability. There is nothing in rebuttal of the evidence of these two-Doctors. Mr. Ibne Ayub, the learned representative for the respondent has very convincingly submitted that under section 4(1)(c) of the said Act, where the permanent partial disablement results from an injury which is not specified under Schedule. I, such percentage of the compensation was payable in the case of the permanent total disablement as is proportionate to the loss of earning capacity permanently caused by the injury. A In this respect, he has placed his reliance on the cases reported in 1967 P L C page 703 and 1967 P L C 224. I see much force in all the contentions of Mr. Ibne Ayub, the learned representative for the respondent and would, therefore, hold that the learned Commissioner for Workman's Compensation has rightly and competently passed the impugned order and it needs not to be interfered. On the other hand, Mr. S.M. Jamil, the learned Advocate for the appellant establishment had miserably failed to submit anything cogent in rebuttal of any of the pleadings of the learned representative for the respondent. The appellant establishment had not led any evidence in this case and for this it should be held responsible. Bare words, that the respondent was not entitled to receive total disablement compensation of Rs. 21,000 and that the learned Commissioner for Compensation was not competent to pass the impugned order could not be relied upon. I see no force in the present appeal.

6.For the reasons discussed by me above, I see no reason to interfere with the impugned order and I would accordingly maintain the, same. The present appeal is dismissed. The learned Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation, Central Division, Karachi is directed to immediately release the amounts, already deposited with him by the appellant establishment in favour of the respondent Habib Khan S/o Muhammad Ismail, after due verification.

A.E./1273/Lb. S. ????????

Appeal dismissed.

Judges on this bench

For educational and research use only — not legal advice. Verify against the official report before relying on it. See our Disclaimer.
Email me when a new judgment cites this one, or get new judgments by email.